If you have been accused of Operating Under the Influence, you are certain to be concerned with paying fees, restrictions on your license and even jail time. If you have had less than five convictions for OUI, you may be able to get a hardship license. A hardship license is not always easy to get, and you will need the assistance of a Massachusetts Hardship License Lawyer. An experienced attorney will know what documentation the RMV will accept and what arguments will convince them to issue you a license. Before you apply for a hardship license there are a few things that you should know.
How a Hardship License Works
When you have had your license suspended, your attorney may be able to get the RMV to issue you this special license for getting to work, school or going to medical appointments. It is important to understand that hardship and inconvenience are not the same thing. Getting groceries, taking the kids to school and going to your weekly trivia game are not activities that constitute hardship.
The RMV has stringent rules for documenting the need for a hardship license. The first thing you must prove is that public transportation is not a viable option. If you must drive to work, be sure to get a letter from your employer on a company letterhead, stating the hours and days that you work. If you are self-employed, you will want to write a letter for yourself. You will also want to document the fact that you are in business by bringing tax records or a professional license to your hearing. If you need to drive to get to school, you should provide proof of enrollment in school as well as a class schedule. Extra-curricular activities will not be taken into consideration when evaluating a hardship application. If you need a car to get to doctor’s appointments, then your doctor can write you a letter detailing when the appointments are. Your attorney will be able to tell you which documents will hold up as evidence.
Before you go to your hardship hearing, be sure to enroll in alcohol classes and attend AA meetings. Never drive when your license has been revoked, or you are certain to be denied a hardship license. In addition to all the many fees that you have had due to your OUI, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee. The fee can be anywhere from $100 to $1200 depending on the details of the offense.
Once you have been issued a hardship license there will be certain restrictions on when you drive. You will be able to operate a motor vehicle for a set twelve hours a day, seven days a week. If you are caught driving outside of those hours, the license is certain to be revoked.
What to Look for In a Lawyer.
Your attorney should have years of experience in OUI law and hardship licenses in the state of Massachusetts. They should have a stellar reputation with the state bar and the firm should be staffed with well-educated assistance and paralegals. An OUI conviction isn’t fun, but it doesn’t have to be the end of the road.